src-failed
THE British Railway Modelling Directory on the Internet.
Link to our Sponsor
Bringing you the BEST Offers on the Net -
SUPPORT YOUR LOCAL MODEL SHOP -

How good is your Local Model Shop?
Would you recommend them to your fellow hobbyists?
If you would then why not add a review wherever you see the
YELLOW or GREEN RateIt buttons
Support Your Local Model Shop  Support Your Local Model Shop

Baz's Model Rail
Nice little shop. Very helpful and friendly owner. Open on Sundays which is a great idea ! Good range including second hand items and a variety of gauges. Definitely worth visiting if in the area.
David, Solihull - 15 Oct 2020 - Four Stars

Porthmadog Models
Called by after weekend break and was amazed once more by the variety of stock and by the fabulous 'megarama' of Rorkes drift. Lots of aviation and military including rarely seen stuff. Purchased a diorama base, and hope to return soon
Mike, Solihull - 14 Oct 2020 - Five Stars

The Model Railway Shop
Great find and very helpful owner, exchanged a few items now to upgrade for newer locos, great shop with a good selection of stock. Worth a visit and a coffee.
Stuart, Selby - 12 Oct 2020 - Four & a half Stars

Osborn's Models
Fair kodos to Osborns Models. My email to them Tue 06/10/2020 14:20 Sir, Do you have in stock kato 3-115 HO scale kato unitrrack hv5 oval variation pack please. £76.46 If I order it on your webpage, and its not in stock, do I get a full refund Much thanks Stay safe. Tue 06/10/2020 15:00 Hi Pete, Thank you for your email, yes we have one of these in stock. Regards M Tue 06/10/2020 15:45 Thank you for choosing Osborns Models. We want to let you know that your order has been received and will be processed as soon as possible Just got home from work, and its here. Well impressed
Pete, Bristol - 07 Oct 2020 - Five Stars

Rocket Railways
Used this shop to sell my old TT locos etc. Very easy to deal with. Delivered items and the shop is very well stocked with reasonably price items. I will definitely visit when I am looking for more OO items.
Simon, Huntingdon - 06 Oct 2020 - Three & a half Stars

Caistor Loco
Visited today for replacement track .Shop busy so waited outside but worth it when inside very helpful finding what I wanted plenty of parking adjacent shall visit again
Peter, Messingham Lincs - 03 Oct 2020 - Five Stars

John Dutfield For Model Railways
Super service from a friendly team. I often visit even though it is a long drive but also use their postal service. Just bought a Steampunk loco. Recommended.
Laurie, Rainham - 26 Sep 2020 - Five Stars

KS Models
I took the opportunity to visit this shop, and I was not disappointed, good stock of RTR kit and bits and pieces. A good shop all round.
Keith, Windsor - 19 Sep 2020 - Five Stars

Mad About Trains of Gainsborough
A treat for me to visit whilst on holiday. This is how model shops used to be with lots to look at both new and secondhand. Used items from as new to play worn condition, I was able to find several items at most reasonable cost. A warm welcome from proprietors, no corporate image, with no matching uniforms in sight. Traditional model shops are still the best. If you have a ONE TRACK MIND and COMPLETELY DERAILED visit Mad about trains and claim asylum.
Richard, Lancaster - 18 Sep 2020 - Four Stars

Milnsbridge Models
Great little shop, masses of second hand stock as well as lots of new stuff. Even if they don't have what you went for you will still find something to buy.
David, Huddersfield - 14 Sep 2020 - Four Stars

Hattons Model Railways
I ordered my Hornby J15 on a Sunday, arrived Tuesday morning. Excellent service. Especially during these trying times. Highly recommended. Priced an at very low price and good stock levels.
Brian, Clydebank - 10 Sep 2020 - Five Stars

P & S Hobbies & Models
I visited while on holiday. Impressed by just how much stock there was, loads of it rammed every where, but still easy to see every thing. Owner friendly, chatty and helpful
Peter, Cambridge - 29 Aug 2020 - Five Stars

The Locoshed Ltd Manchester
I ordered a hard to find EFE bus on the Saturday dispatched on Monday was delivered in Crawley Tuesday 11am will be using again. Terrific service recommended
James, Crawley - 25 Aug 2020 - Five Stars

A to Z Models
Andrew has great models at very reasonable prices and has always been most helpful in looking out for items of special interest to me over the many years that I have been buying from him.
Claire, London - 21 Aug 2020 - Five Stars
[Response: "Thank you Claire for all your custom over the years, see you at Ashington Toy Fair."]

Britannia Models
You will not find more helpful people anywhere, even met me halfway to my home with my track to save me the postage and ensure I had the track for the weekend, fantastic.
Stephen, Burnaby - 14 Aug 2020 - Five Stars

Tony's Trains of Rugby (Formerly Barby Model Rail)
A bit of a trek for me but well worth it - everything you need under one roof good knowledge and good prices plenty of secondhand as well
Stephen, Birmingham - 13 Aug 2020 - Four & a half Stars

Mark's Trains
Very good communication, excellent service.Value for money and good packing of returned locos. At all stages of dealing with Mark trying to sort out a difficult problem with a Hornby loco he as kept me informed of progress and tried hard to obtain out of stock spares and succeeded.
Philip, Dorset - 10 Aug 2020 - Four & a half Stars

Ian Allan Book & Model Shop Ltd
This is the last of the famous old Ian Allan stores, with the loss of the Birmingham and Manchester branches. It is also the last model shop in central London (As opposed to Greater London) and for these two reasons given alone it is worth visiting. It is located in a trendy back street near Waterloo station. Very good transport literature (What IA are famous for) and other media section. Modest selection of railway and other models at mostly full RRP (Can be forgiven given their location and overheads, and the convenience factor). I wouldn't travel into London especially for it, but when there with work I often make the trip over.
Ian, Leeds - 09 Aug 2020 - Three Stars

Marcway Models & Hobbies
Many years ago I gave a less than favourable review of this shop, based on an experience with unpleasant staff. Time moves on and I thought I would revisit this long-established shop whilst in the area and in part due to another well-known retailer in the town not accepting casual browsers due to obvious restrictions. Very well stocked with new and used items. Able to browse with no particular purchase in mind without feeling under pressure. Came away with a well-priced new locomotive, and a pleasant experience with the assistant. Also received advice that stopped me making an erroneous purchase (A P4-converted locomotive) rather than let me pay for it.
Ian, Leeds - 09 Aug 2020 - Four Stars

Pennine Models
This shop is like shops were in the last millennium (And in model shop world that is praise indeed!). Piled high with trays of used items normally now the preserve of toy fairs or Online auctions, shelves full of new items and a lot of discontinued new items. Again, under restrictions for obvious reasons, I was still able to browse without pressure, and the owner doubled up the manpower searching for a specific item of rolling stock for me (We found it!). Also found a locomotive I didn't know I needed in one of the trays. Incidentally, this shop is in Haworth, a large-ish village near Keighley rather than Keighley itself. Accessible by heritage railway (Again in normal circunstances anyway). Parking available across the road but you have to pay.
Ian, Leeds - 09 Aug 2020 - Four & a half Stars

53a Models
Surprised this well-known and established premises hasn't had a review on here. I thought I would correct this and comment on my first visit this weekend. Parking very easy on-street. Easy enough to find on a busy thoroughfare a short drive out of the centre. Temporary (I hope) restrictions on access for obvious reasons did not hinder viewing. Good stock of new and used items reasonably priced. Owner welcoming. Worth the 120 mile round trip.
Ian, Leeds - 09 Aug 2020 - Four Stars

Scograil
Back into modelling after more than 20 years - My first purchase with this company , very helpful , posted same day as order and a bargain as well :) Received in two days :) Definately shop here again. Thanks :)
Kevin, Edinburgh - 05 Aug 2020 - Five Stars

Smiths Model Railways
Limited amount of stock present -but much better than the previous shop and its owner. Prices are a little expensive -but weve got used to the internet during lockdown! It's a railway shop -its need protecting or it will go -and then we will all be at the mercy of those internet thieves !! Shop if you can !!!
Neil, Southport - 01 Aug 2020 - Two & a half Stars

Carnforth Models
On Holiday in the area fantastic Model Shop with a very large range.Including large range of secondhand products. Friendly staff will be back. I have been to many shops this is one of the best. At this time you need to support shops like these. They cater for N, TT, OO, O and G Gauges.
Roger, Leicestershire - 01 Aug 2020 - Five Stars

Starbeck Model Railways
Take no notice of my rating, it just confirms the most important thing at the moment. It's still there, it's still open and the owner is well and in good spirits. Confound this virus.
John, Stratford Upon Avon - 27 Jul 2020 - Five Stars

Please note: All the usual rules for reviews apply and, before appearing here, your submission will be reviewed by us first. Webmasters decision is final.

COPYRIGHT INFO and FEEDBACK
As we hope you can appreciate we cannot visit every Shop and Supplier in the country. So your help and assistance is always greatly appreciated.
Alas, sometimes shops do close and we are invariably not informed, so it is always best to ring ahead if you are planning to make a special journey. If you do find a shop listed that is closed, please let us know to help others.
You can submit information on the forms that are on the following pages of the website;
Events, Clubs, Layouts, Information and a General Enquiries form for everything else.
Also, if you know of any Supplier or Retailer that isn't listed, why not let us know. Fellow modellers will surely benefit.
All material on this website is Copyright © UKModelshops.co.uk
The use of text and images from this site without permission is prohibited.
If you see any of our content used on other sites that do not credit this Directory then you can be assured it has been copied without our consent.
If you want to use any of our content, please ask!
All Rights Reserved.
Cookie Policy: Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies.
Member of The Internet Content Rating Association  Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional  Valid CSS!