src-failed spider
THE British Railway Modelling Directory on the Internet.
Link to our Sponsor
Bringing you the BEST Offers on the Net -
SUPPORT YOUR LOCAL MODEL SHOP -

How good is your Local Model Shop?
Would you recommend them to your fellow hobbyists?
If you would then why not add a review wherever you see the
YELLOW or GREEN RateIt buttons
Support Your Local Model Shop  Support Your Local Model Shop

Hattons Model Railways
Started my first railway layout, had great advice from the team who even phoned me back. Thanks for a great service.I Have passed your details on to friends, they wont be disappointed.
Steve, Newport South Wales - 01 Aug 2020 - Five Stars

Smiths Model Railways
Limited amount of stock present -but much better than the previous shop and its owner. Prices are a little expensive -but weve got used to the internet during lockdown! It's a railway shop -its need protecting or it will go -and then we will all be at the mercy of those internet thieves !! Shop if you can !!!
Neil, Southport - 01 Aug 2020 - Two & a half Stars

Carnforth Models
On Holiday in the area fantastic Model Shop with a very large range.Including large range of secondhand products. Friendly staff will be back. I have been to many shops this is one of the best. At this time you need to support shops like these. They cater for N, TT, OO, O and G Gauges.
Roger, Leicestershire - 01 Aug 2020 - Five Stars

Track-Shack
I had not heard of Track Shack until yesterday, when I placed my first order - I received an e-mail yesterday afternoon to say dispatched, and received the order this morning, well packed and in perfect condition. Unbeatable service!
Martin, Brandon - 31 Jul 2020 - Five Stars

Starbeck Model Railways
Take no notice of my rating, it just confirms the most important thing at the moment. It's still there, it's still open and the owner is well and in good spirits. Confound this virus.
John, Stratford Upon Avon - 27 Jul 2020 - Five Stars

Baz's Model Rail
Its good to see a new model rail shop opening these days and best of luck to him the owner is friendly and very knowledgeable has a well stocked shop at fair prices I shall be using the shop regularly
Stephen, Birmingham - 27 Jul 2020 - Four & a half Stars

Transport Treasures
Went for some N gauge bits including some Code-55 Streamline track (Full range available, including points that were out of stock at the Online retailers). Very competitive prices on these, too, which was a pleasant surprise! All the usual Peco accessories available and a fair range of N gauge kits as well. Wasn't shopping for stock, but pleased to see a decent range of Farish and Peco models behind the counter. Much larger range of 4mm stock on sale, and some 7mm stuff too. Not a big shop, but has all the essentials, and definitely well worth a visit.
Neale, Berkhamsted - 24 Jul 2020 - Four Stars

Bekra Models
Always a good shop, especially for those craft and scenic items, now reopened under new ownership. All the old favourite stock still available and gradually being expanded. New owners very friendly and welcome comments and suggestions. Well worth a visit when you are in the area.
David, Torquay - 21 Jul 2020 - Four & a half Stars

Tutbury Models
Popped into the shop yesterday. Still plenty of stock with a good selection of second-hand items (Mainly OO Gauge) at pretty good prices. At the moment closed Wednesdays so may be worth calling to check if travelling far. Well worth a visit.
Mark, Derby - 21 Jul 2020 - Four & a half Stars

Model Railways Direct
Always very quick and efficient on line service, normally next day delivery. Ordered 1245 and delivered 1150 next day: Amazing! All very easy, no problems at all.
David, Torquay - 21 Jul 2020 - Four & a half Stars

Osborn's Models
First class speedy service. Product exactly as described well made with good detailing. Excellent range of products to choose from. Definitely Would recommend this item to anyone.
Anthony, Nottingham - 19 Jul 2020 - Four & a half Stars

Osborn's Models
Easy to order. Superfast delivery. Michael & Maurice are friendly & knowledgeable, a pleasure to do business with. Highly recommended. The model shop for the N Gauge enthusiast.
Andy, Newcastle Under Lyme - 19 Jul 2020 - Five Stars

K J B Models
I purchased five pre-owned Hornby coaches on a buy it now option from KJB via their eBay outlet, not only did they combine the postage for all the items, when they shipped the package, it cost less than their quoted total & hence they then sent me a refund of the difference! This was absolutely superb service, it is so refreshing to deal with a business having such an honest approach to P&P charges, so much so that, apart from posting 5-star positive feedback on eBay for them, I also sent an email expressing my extreme gratitude to them for doing so! Whilst the coaches were listed as having been used & although the boxes were indeed somewhat worn as per the description for them, all five appeared to be in mint condition & hence they represented excellent value for money in respect of the prices I paid for each, plus they were also dispatched very promptly too. Based on my experience with this particular transaction, I would definitely have no hesitation in making further purchases from KJB Most certainly, it would be true to say that many other retailers could well do with following the example of KJB, as good customer service is clearly paramount with regard to their list of priorities! Summing up, I can most definitely highly recommend this retailer & so I have bookmarked their website for future use accordingly.
Ralph, Southampton - 17 Jul 2020 - Five Stars

North East Model Centre
Visited just to get paints for F-18, Excellent service, knew the various schemes, very helpful and had a great wander round, aircraft kit enthusiastoh man I'll be back, just a great selection of kits and supporting equipment
David, Durham - 15 Jul 2020 - Five Stars

Hereford Model Centre
During lockdown I have used Hereford Model Centre on a couple of occasions to mail order railway items. Their website is up to date with stock levels and delivery, with all the inconveniences of Covid, has been prompt and secure.
Adrian, Oxford - 13 Jul 2020 - Four & a half Stars

Train Trax
Keep up the good work,always very helpful and willing to go the extra mile have dealt with this company over many years and no problems what do everDoug edwards
Douglas, Hampshire - 12 Jul 2020 - Two & a half Stars

John Dutfield For Model Railways
An Alladin's cave of delights with a terrific team providing exceptional service. Such a shame I now live over 150 miles away so their mail service bus invaluable.
Stephen, West Midlands - 10 Jul 2020 - Five Stars

W D Models
Phoned Alan to check on stock availability, he had everything that I wanted, and other items that I hadnt asked about, which purchased when collecting my order. Well done, excellent shop and staff . Look forward to going back again.
John, Derbyshire - 10 Jul 2020 - Five Stars

Trident Trains
Excellent shop very helpful did great job of converting my old lima and hornby diesel to dcc when I first started of my layout brilliant thanking you
David, Oswestry - 05 Jul 2020 - Five Stars

Alton Model Centre
I am more than happy with my experience of Alton Model Centre, I would recommend anyone to use this shop. For me it was via their website and was based upon recommendations I had seen in model railway videos on social media. I knew what I was looking forward, saw it on the website and contacted the business owner, Paul, to arrange purchase and delivery, (You cannot buy direct on the website). It was sent to me in Scotland and I received it 2 days later in perfect condition and very well packed. First class service from a super retailer, I will purchase again in the future from this smashing shop.
Stephen, Argyll and Bute - 04 Jul 2020 - Five Stars

Sat Model Rail
Lovely shop in a lovely setting. Very helpful, knowledgable & always willing to advise if its needed or wanted. One stop shop. Loads of parking Available. Beautiful, thankyou guys.
Marc, Leigh On Sea, Essex. - 03 Jul 2020 - Five Stars

Setchfields Models
Excellent model shop for hunting out kits and OO/N gauge railway items, scenic materials and a huge range of Oxford die cast (Other brands also available). They can get a limited amount of O gauge from the Peco stable if asked and are happy to place an order for you. This is not a bargain basement shop, prices tend to be RRP, but you do find the odd bargain, even on locomotives. Comments about staff are a little unfair, this is a traditional Poole shop and like visiting other parts of the country, the quirks of the area are pleasantly present. I can say, I have never found anyone at the shop to be unduly rude, apart from the odd customer that is.
Kevin, Bournemouth - 03 Jul 2020 - Four Stars

The Model Shop
Although small, this shop stocks a lot of parts and other accessories that are hard to get hold of. Good stocks of track and scenic items. They also make their own baseboards and accessories. Small stock of RTR (including Continental HO) but they are always happy to source anything else if required. Always very helpful.
Jeff, Ashford, Kent - 26 Jun 2020 - Four Stars

Scoonie Hobbies
Scoonie Hobbies will be looking to open up on Mon 22/06/20 from lockdown. They still sell Kits, trains. Aero and car RC, paints. I've frequented this shop since I was a kid so know the staff pretty well. They have a good knowledge base for their products and are very helpful. Two small public car parks within a 100m of the shop. Well worth a visit.
Jack, Kirkcaldy, Fife, Scotland - 20 Jun 2020 - Four Stars

KS Models
I have used this company for around 20 years and have always had tip top service any information that you need is always given without making you feel like a novice all the staff have always been so polite and friendly I would have no hesitation to recommend them to anyone experienced or novice.
John, Bedford - 14 Jun 2020 - Four & a half Stars

Please note: All the usual rules for reviews apply and, before appearing here, your submission will be reviewed by us first. Webmasters decision is final.

COPYRIGHT INFO and FEEDBACK
As we hope you can appreciate we cannot visit every Shop and Supplier in the country. So your help and assistance is always greatly appreciated.
Alas, sometimes shops do close and we are invariably not informed, so it is always best to ring ahead if you are planning to make a special journey. If you do find a shop listed that is closed, please let us know to help others.
You can submit information on the forms that are on the following pages of the website;
Events, Clubs, Layouts, Information and a General Enquiries form for everything else.
Also, if you know of any Supplier or Retailer that isn't listed, why not let us know. Fellow modellers will surely benefit.
All material on this website is Copyright © UKModelshops.co.uk
The use of text and images from this site without permission is prohibited.
If you see any of our content used on other sites that do not credit this Directory then you can be assured it has been copied without our consent.
If you want to use any of our content, please ask!
All Rights Reserved.
Cookie Policy: Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies.
Member of The Internet Content Rating Association  Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional  Valid CSS!