src-failed spider
THE British Railway Modelling Directory on the Internet.
Link to our Sponsor
Bringing you the BEST Offers on the Net -
SUPPORT YOUR LOCAL MODEL SHOP -

How good is your Local Model Shop?
Would you recommend them to your fellow hobbyists?
If you would then why not add a review wherever you see the
YELLOW or GREEN RateIt buttons
Support Your Local Model Shop  Support Your Local Model Shop

Pennine Models
This shop is like shops were in the last millennium (And in model shop world that is praise indeed!). Piled high with trays of used items normally now the preserve of toy fairs or Online auctions, shelves full of new items and a lot of discontinued new items. Again, under restrictions for obvious reasons, I was still able to browse without pressure, and the owner doubled up the manpower searching for a specific item of rolling stock for me (We found it!). Also found a locomotive I didn't know I needed in one of the trays. Incidentally, this shop is in Haworth, a large-ish village near Keighley rather than Keighley itself. Accessible by heritage railway (Again in normal circunstances anyway). Parking available across the road but you have to pay.
Ian, Leeds - 09 Aug 2020 - Four & a half Stars

53a Models
Surprised this well-known and established premises hasn't had a review on here. I thought I would correct this and comment on my first visit this weekend. Parking very easy on-street. Easy enough to find on a busy thoroughfare a short drive out of the centre. Temporary (I hope) restrictions on access for obvious reasons did not hinder viewing. Good stock of new and used items reasonably priced. Owner welcoming. Worth the 120 mile round trip.
Ian, Leeds - 09 Aug 2020 - Four Stars

Ian Allan Book & Model Shop Ltd
This is the last of the famous old Ian Allan stores, with the loss of the Birmingham and Manchester branches. It is also the last model shop in central London (As opposed to Greater London) and for these two reasons given alone it is worth visiting. It is located in a trendy back street near Waterloo station. Very good transport literature (What IA are famous for) and other media section. Modest selection of railway and other models at mostly full RRP (Can be forgiven given their location and overheads, and the convenience factor). I wouldn't travel into London especially for it, but when there with work I often make the trip over.
Ian, Leeds - 09 Aug 2020 - Three Stars

Marcway Models & Hobbies
Many years ago I gave a less than favourable review of this shop, based on an experience with unpleasant staff. Time moves on and I thought I would revisit this long-established shop whilst in the area and in part due to another well-known retailer in the town not accepting casual browsers due to obvious restrictions. Very well stocked with new and used items. Able to browse with no particular purchase in mind without feeling under pressure. Came away with a well-priced new locomotive, and a pleasant experience with the assistant. Also received advice that stopped me making an erroneous purchase (A P4-converted locomotive) rather than let me pay for it.
Ian, Leeds - 09 Aug 2020 - Four Stars

A to Z Models
I have been dealing with this man for many years and have always found him very good to buy from excellent range of Models at great Prices
Chris, Essex - 08 Aug 2020 - Five Stars
[Response: "Thank you Chris, see you at the next Brentwood Toy Fair. "]

The Model Railway Shop
Visited Martin again for the umpteenth time again I was not disappointed with chat and swap session. Always has decent stock and asks and gives fair prices.Spent two hrs there and got what I wanted will go again worth the one hr drive
Peter, Scunthorpe - 07 Aug 2020 - Four & a half Stars

Hattons Model Railways
Usual excellent service with very friendly and helpful staff. In addition the Hattons Trunk facility is a brilliant way to secure items, whilst awaiting manufacturer delivery of pre-ordered items.
Richard, Greatworth - 06 Aug 2020 - Five Stars

Scograil
Back into modelling after more than 20 years - My first purchase with this company , very helpful , posted same day as order and a bargain as well :) Received in two days :) Definately shop here again. Thanks :)
Kevin, Edinburgh - 05 Aug 2020 - Five Stars

John Dutfield For Model Railways
This was the 3rd time I had bought from John Dutfield (Twice by email and once in-store) and their service was tremendous. I received all I wanted, sent to New Zealand in under a week. I would recommend any modeller to try their shop any time. Graeme Leary (New Zealand)
Graeme, Auckland, New Zealand - 03 Aug 2020 - Five Stars

Smiths Model Railways
Limited amount of stock present -but much better than the previous shop and its owner. Prices are a little expensive -but weve got used to the internet during lockdown! It's a railway shop -its need protecting or it will go -and then we will all be at the mercy of those internet thieves !! Shop if you can !!!
Neil, Southport - 01 Aug 2020 - Two & a half Stars

Carnforth Models
On Holiday in the area fantastic Model Shop with a very large range.Including large range of secondhand products. Friendly staff will be back. I have been to many shops this is one of the best. At this time you need to support shops like these. They cater for N, TT, OO, O and G Gauges.
Roger, Leicestershire - 01 Aug 2020 - Five Stars

Baz's Model Rail
Its good to see a new model rail shop opening these days and best of luck to him the owner is friendly and very knowledgeable has a well stocked shop at fair prices I shall be using the shop regularly
Stephen, Birmingham - 27 Jul 2020 - Four & a half Stars

Starbeck Model Railways
Take no notice of my rating, it just confirms the most important thing at the moment. It's still there, it's still open and the owner is well and in good spirits. Confound this virus.
John, Stratford Upon Avon - 27 Jul 2020 - Five Stars

Abergavenny Model Centre
Range of products stocked is very good and so is the level of service. I wish them well for the future. The only snag is that a link to their website is not provided from this directory.
Richard, St Ives - 25 Jul 2020 - Four Stars
[Response: "There is a link. Please refer to the key to symbols at the bottom of every page. Adrian Hall, Directory Editor."]

Transport Treasures
Went for some N gauge bits including some Code-55 Streamline track (Full range available, including points that were out of stock at the Online retailers). Very competitive prices on these, too, which was a pleasant surprise! All the usual Peco accessories available and a fair range of N gauge kits as well. Wasn't shopping for stock, but pleased to see a decent range of Farish and Peco models behind the counter. Much larger range of 4mm stock on sale, and some 7mm stuff too. Not a big shop, but has all the essentials, and definitely well worth a visit.
Neale, Berkhamsted - 24 Jul 2020 - Four Stars

Bekra Models
Always a good shop, especially for those craft and scenic items, now reopened under new ownership. All the old favourite stock still available and gradually being expanded. New owners very friendly and welcome comments and suggestions. Well worth a visit when you are in the area.
David, Torquay - 21 Jul 2020 - Four & a half Stars

Tutbury Models
Popped into the shop yesterday. Still plenty of stock with a good selection of second-hand items (Mainly OO Gauge) at pretty good prices. At the moment closed Wednesdays so may be worth calling to check if travelling far. Well worth a visit.
Mark, Derby - 21 Jul 2020 - Four & a half Stars

Model Railways Direct
Always very quick and efficient on line service, normally next day delivery. Ordered 1245 and delivered 1150 next day: Amazing! All very easy, no problems at all.
David, Torquay - 21 Jul 2020 - Four & a half Stars

Osborn's Models
First class speedy service. Product exactly as described well made with good detailing. Excellent range of products to choose from. Definitely Would recommend this item to anyone.
Anthony, Nottingham - 19 Jul 2020 - Four & a half Stars

Osborn's Models
Easy to order. Superfast delivery. Michael & Maurice are friendly & knowledgeable, a pleasure to do business with. Highly recommended. The model shop for the N Gauge enthusiast.
Andy, Newcastle Under Lyme - 19 Jul 2020 - Five Stars

K J B Models
I purchased five pre-owned Hornby coaches on a buy it now option from KJB via their eBay outlet, not only did they combine the postage for all the items, when they shipped the package, it cost less than their quoted total & hence they then sent me a refund of the difference! This was absolutely superb service, it is so refreshing to deal with a business having such an honest approach to P&P charges, so much so that, apart from posting 5-star positive feedback on eBay for them, I also sent an email expressing my extreme gratitude to them for doing so! Whilst the coaches were listed as having been used & although the boxes were indeed somewhat worn as per the description for them, all five appeared to be in mint condition & hence they represented excellent value for money in respect of the prices I paid for each, plus they were also dispatched very promptly too. Based on my experience with this particular transaction, I would definitely have no hesitation in making further purchases from KJB Most certainly, it would be true to say that many other retailers could well do with following the example of KJB, as good customer service is clearly paramount with regard to their list of priorities! Summing up, I can most definitely highly recommend this retailer & so I have bookmarked their website for future use accordingly.
Ralph, Southampton - 17 Jul 2020 - Five Stars

North East Model Centre
Visited just to get paints for F-18, Excellent service, knew the various schemes, very helpful and had a great wander round, aircraft kit enthusiastoh man I'll be back, just a great selection of kits and supporting equipment
David, Durham - 15 Jul 2020 - Five Stars

Hereford Model Centre
During lockdown I have used Hereford Model Centre on a couple of occasions to mail order railway items. Their website is up to date with stock levels and delivery, with all the inconveniences of Covid, has been prompt and secure.
Adrian, Oxford - 13 Jul 2020 - Four & a half Stars

Train Trax
Keep up the good work,always very helpful and willing to go the extra mile have dealt with this company over many years and no problems what do everDoug edwards
Douglas, Hampshire - 12 Jul 2020 - Two & a half Stars

W D Models
Phoned Alan to check on stock availability, he had everything that I wanted, and other items that I hadnt asked about, which purchased when collecting my order. Well done, excellent shop and staff . Look forward to going back again.
John, Derbyshire - 10 Jul 2020 - Five Stars

Please note: All the usual rules for reviews apply and, before appearing here, your submission will be reviewed by us first. Webmasters decision is final.

COPYRIGHT INFO and FEEDBACK
As we hope you can appreciate we cannot visit every Shop and Supplier in the country. So your help and assistance is always greatly appreciated.
Alas, sometimes shops do close and we are invariably not informed, so it is always best to ring ahead if you are planning to make a special journey. If you do find a shop listed that is closed, please let us know to help others.
You can submit information on the forms that are on the following pages of the website;
Events, Clubs, Layouts, Information and a General Enquiries form for everything else.
Also, if you know of any Supplier or Retailer that isn't listed, why not let us know. Fellow modellers will surely benefit.
All material on this website is Copyright © UKModelshops.co.uk
The use of text and images from this site without permission is prohibited.
If you see any of our content used on other sites that do not credit this Directory then you can be assured it has been copied without our consent.
If you want to use any of our content, please ask!
All Rights Reserved.
Cookie Policy: Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies.
Member of The Internet Content Rating Association  Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional  Valid CSS!